Skip to content
September 1, 2009 / rinta chos

Jan Pieterszoon Coen

My sister’s new boyfriend, Mas Yoshi, apparently enjoy photography too.He owns NIKON D80 with an 18-125 mm lens (If I’m not mistaken).He’s been asking me to take pictures with him, do some photo hunting in the old part of Jakarta, particularly Pelabuhan Sunda Kelapa, the place where Jan Pieterszoon Coen first stepped his feet in Java.

Well, yesterday he and my sister took me to Pelabuhan Sunda Kelapa. What an astonishing place to take pictures.Old pinisi ship, Dutch’s architecture, JCP’s statue; everything were so perpetual.
Well unintentionally when we aimlessly drove around, we found some old building that happen to be a restaurant. It’s a very very fancy restaurant, Marina Batavia Restaurant.It consists of 5 floor, outdoor place with the view of Jakarta’s sea, a ballroom in the 2nd floor, and they are currently building a club in the rooftop.I went to the rooftop and it was a mind-blowing view, I could see Jakarta’s smoggy apperance from the top.

They certainly are aiming for foreign customers.As far as I could see, Mas  Yoshi, Kak Mita and I were the only ‘pribumi’ costumer.

Okay this was bad, I didn’t fast on that day because I wanted to taste the food they have there.I ought to think that every single restaurant that’s located close to the sea is a seafood restaurant.But well, Marina is not a seafood restaurant, they serve western food, more like a Dutch kind of food.I ordered Sandwich Club, it tastes alright but my drink, Teh Tarik, tastes like heaven, I ain’t lie, it sure tastes like heaven.(even though I don’t know how heaven taste).

I’m assuming some wealthy Chinese entrepreneur owns the place.But, surprisingly, someone whose family name is Pramono owns the place.Pretty swell place but they need a better interior design, the color of the wall and the choices of the furnitures are absolutely tacky.

There’s some kind of rave party going on Jakarta : Sundaze.They once had their event in this place.And I’m goddamn sure that once they’re done with the club in the rooftop, this Marina Batavia place gonna be the next shit! It’s gonna be packed with those crazy party animal.I was just wondering if those people are drunk, they might fall from the rooftop and drown in the filthy water of Jakarta’s sea.

Oh, this place is hard to find, because it’s like in a secluded place, far from the main harbor and who the hell gonna expect a freakin fancy restaurant is located in the middle out of nowhere?

I feel like I discovered a buried treasure of Jakarta.

—–

I think I’m going to do photo hunting more often since Kak Mita dating Mas Yoshi right now. HOORAY!
Next plan : Slum area of Tanah Abang.
I need UV filter for Kafka though.Poor Kafka, his lens are being tortured by the UV light.

—–

jan pieterzoon coon

Marina Batavia Restaurant

Marina Batavia Restaurant

I love this window.

I love this window.

pelabuhan

 

My blogspot gonna be the place to see my amatuer photograph work. Check it out fellas. Thankyou very much.

Click HERE.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Nadya / Sep 3 2009 1:45 pm

    bagus deh rin, jd pengen hunting kesana😀

  2. bestari / Sep 5 2009 10:02 pm

    tsaahh, ciamik benar gayamu nak di profile pic itu (sorry, gw baru liat sekarang soalnya)
    oia nama saya: Bestari Nurfitriana
    bukan Bestari Nur Fitria seperti di list anda

    (ok, komen gw kali ini paling ga mengkomeni tulisan lo, djahahaa)

    • owner / Sep 14 2009 3:08 am

      oke oke nanti gue betulin Bes hehehe

  3. Citta Parahita Widagdo / Sep 13 2009 12:12 am

    jealousss but so happy for you!! your amateur artworks are good (Y)

    • rintacos / Sep 19 2009 8:54 am

      thanksssss :–)

  4. Chacha / Sep 16 2009 9:54 am

    rinta rinta, link blog gw dong di blog lo yg ini. hehehe thank you

    • rintacos / Sep 19 2009 9:56 am

      blog lo apa deh cha? hehe

  5. Chacha / Sep 23 2009 3:31 am

    htttp://shafaisme.wordpress.com rin😀

Leave a Reply

