Skip to content
July 24, 2010 / rinta chos

Series of impulsive actions

Hey there, whoever reading this, I’m currently sitting around in Dunkin Donuts, Tawang Train Station, Semarang. I’m waiting for the train that’ll take me home to Jakarta..

How I ended up here? Well.. As the title of the post says : series of impulsive actions.
When the time is getting closer to my 18th birthday, I have this huge urgency to run away from everything.. I need to be alone but to not feel lonely, I need to be in a moment called : perfect solitude. Because only in that moment, I’ll be able to refresh my mind, like if I’m a PC, my owner push a restart button, instead of pushing F5 button continously.

I’ve a lot of things going through my mind and this ‘things’ is unexplainable, I don’t have any exact words to describe my condition.. Let’s just call it temporary insanity before you turn 18. I know one thing for sure though, the only way to cure my temporary insanity is having a reunion with nature. Nature is simple but gives an unbearable amount of joyness and happiness to me. The human spirit needs places where nature has not been rearranged by the hand of man.

So here’s the story. On July 23rd, 2 days before my birthday, I got a broadcast message from my elementary school friend. It says : who wants to go to Karimun Jawa? Only 700rb IDR, we’re going tonight at 7 PM, meet us at Rawamangun Bus Station. And I was like bam! This is it, I bet it’s God’s sign for me,He’s calling me to see another perfect creation of Him.I enthusiastically called my mother and she said it’s okay, up to me, as long as I use my own money, and thank God I currently had enough money in my bank account.

Actually there’s one thing that keep me from going to Karimun Jawa.. There’s a Car Free Day event on July 25th, I want to go there with my friends.. But my heart told me to go to Karimun Jawa, and I can’t stop now.. My mind is clouded with poisonus smokes and as I mentioned it before, I can’t talk about it..no words could describe it.And eventhough I’ll be around them, my mind and soul will wander somewhere,my mind and soul will keep bugging me until I can find a cure for that poisonus smokes. I’ll be like a zombie who lacks in enthusiasm.

Well, in shorts, I was in a bus, on my way to Jepara with Inu (my elementary school friend who broacasted the message) and her 3 friends: Meimei, Ana, and Neni..but the bus broke down in Tegal around 1 o’clock, and there’s no way we could catch another bus to Jepara, we decided to take another bus that will take us to Semarang, from Semarang, we’ll go to Jepara and then catch the ship to Karimun Jawa. However, we’re extremely late (stupid bus and bus driver and I think I’m in a total bad luck that day), we should be on board at 9 AM, but we barely reach Semarang at 11 AM.. My 4 friends decided to go to Jogja first and then catch the next ship on July 26th.But that’ll take too long, I should be in Jkt at the 27th. At this moment, my heart tells me to part away from them and take a train back to Jakarta. (SERIES OF IMPULSIVE ACTIONS). So while they go to Jogja, I decided to go back to Jakarta.And here I am, Dunkin Donuts, Tawang Train Station, Semarang.. Alone but weird enough, not feeling lonely. I feel fulfilled instead, my soul isn’t broken anymore and I’m finally happy (like real happy).

I saw beautiful night sky with stars, rice fields, mountains, cirrus clouds (my favorite), blue sky, and simple uncomplicated people, along my journey.. That fills me up. It feels like God is finally around me again.. And I’m not so alone.. (I’m sure He always around me, but with Jakarta’s filthy atmosphere.. I can’t feel a thing).

Maybe I still can’t explain it bluntly, so I’ll let the quotes told you how I exactly feel.

Look at the trees, look at the birds, look at the clouds, look at the stars… and if you have eyes you will be able to see that the whole existence is joyful.  Everything is simply happy.  Trees are happy for no reason; they are not going to become prime ministers or presidents and they are not going to become rich and they will never have any bank balance.  Look at the flowers – for no reason.  It is simply unbelievable how happy flowers are.  ~Osho

I love to think of nature as an unlimited broadcasting station, through which God speaks to us every hour, if we will only tune in.  ~George Washington Carver

Nature is my medicine.  ~Sara Moss-Wolfe

Those who dwell among the beauties and mysteries of the earth are never alone or weary of life.  ~Rachel Carson

And the best quote ever! :
There is a pleasure in the pathless woods,
There is a rapture on the lonely shore,
There is society, where none intrudes,
By the deep sea, and music in its roar:
I love not man the less, but Nature more.
~George Gordon, Lord Byron, Childe Harold’s Pilgrimage

A day away from being legal, Rintachos.

PS : I love to sit alone in a comfy place, doing nothing but reading a book and I definitely enjoy walking around alone, with nothing but my iPod, I love to take pictures of an endless beautiful scenery that I won’t ever find in Jakarta.

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

One Comment

Leave a Comment
  1. sarapanmatahari / Aug 10 2010 9:00 am

    very lovely island..still…

Leave a Reply

